Research

DeepSeek Model Lineage and Roadmap 2026: V2 to V4.1

DeepSeek release timeline from V2 (May 2024) through V3, R1, V4, and V4.1-Flash (September 10, 2026): dates, context windows, API prices over time, open weights, and the status of V4.1-Pro.

By Ramanath, CTO & Co-Founder at Presenc AI · Last updated: October 2026

DeepSeek's current model is DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, released on September 10, 2026 and served on the API under the name deepseek-flash. It is the most recent DeepSeek release. The larger DeepSeek-V4-Pro, which reached general availability on August 13, 2026, stays in service until a V4.1-Pro launches. DeepSeek has not given a date for that. This page lists each DeepSeek release from V2 onward with dates taken from DeepSeek's own API changelog.

DeepSeek Model Timeline

ModelReleasedContext windowNotable changeStatus
DeepSeek-V2May 6, 2024128K236B mixture-of-experts model, 21B active per tokenDiscontinued
DeepSeek-V2.5September 5, 2024Not disclosedMerged the chat and coder lines into one modelSuperseded
DeepSeek-V3December 26, 2024128K on the model card671B parameters, 37B active. Open weights. Updated on March 24, 2025Weights available, replaced on the API
DeepSeek-R1January 20, 2025Not stated in the launch postOpen reasoning model under the MIT licence. Updated on May 28, 2025Weights available, replaced on the API
DeepSeek-V3.1August 21, 2025128KOne model with thinking and non-thinking modesSuperseded
DeepSeek-V3.1-TerminusSeptember 22, 2025Not disclosedFixes for language consistency and agent behaviourSuperseded
DeepSeek-V3.2December 1, 2025Not disclosedFollowed the V3.2-Exp build of September 29, 2025. Both API names moved to itSuperseded
DeepSeek-V4 preview (Flash and Pro)April 24, 20261MFlash: 284B parameters, 13B active. Pro: 1.6T parameters, 49B active. 1M context became the default on all DeepSeek servicesReplaced by official releases
DeepSeek-V4-FlashJuly 31, 20261MOfficial release, retrained after the preview with the same architectureRetired. Requests now served by V4.1-Flash
DeepSeek-V4-ProAugust 13, 20261MGeneral availability on app, web, and API. Three thinking effort levelsActive
DeepSeek-V4.1-FlashSeptember 10, 20261M, with 384K maximum output552B parameters, 8B active on input and 16B on output. Native image inputCurrent

The legacy API names deepseek-chat and deepseek-reasoner were scheduled for retirement on July 24, 2026, three months after the V4 preview. Before V2, DeepSeek released DeepSeek-Coder on November 2, 2023 and DeepSeek-LLM on November 29, 2023.

API Pricing Over Time

Model and dateInput, cache missOutputSource
V3, list price from February 8, 2025$0.27$1.10DeepSeek launch post
R1, January 2025$0.55$2.19DeepSeek launch post
V4-Flash preview, April 2026$0.14$0.28CloudZero pricing guide
V4-Pro preview, April 2026$1.74 list, $0.435 under a 75 percent launch discount$3.48 list, $0.87 discountedCloudZero pricing guide
V4-Pro, from August 16, 2026$0.66 off-peak, $1.32 peak$1.98 off-peak, $3.96 peakDeepSeek pricing page
V4.1-Flash, from September 10, 2026$0.15 off-peak, $0.30 peak$0.60 off-peak, $1.20 peakDeepSeek pricing page

Prices are per million tokens in US dollars. Since August 16, 2026 DeepSeek bills by time of day: peak hours are 01:00 to 04:00 and 06:00 to 10:00 UTC on weekdays, and off-peak rates are half the peak rate. Cached input on V4.1-Flash costs $0.003 off-peak and $0.006 at peak.

Open Weights

DeepSeek has published weights for the main models in this table, including both V4 models. R1 and V3.1 onward use the MIT licence, and V4.1-Flash is on Hugging Face under MIT with its technical report. V3 shipped with MIT-licensed code and a separate model licence that allows commercial use.

What Is Next

V4.1-Pro. DeepSeek's September 10 announcement calls V4.1-Flash the smallest model in a new architecture family and refers to a V4.1-Pro launch without dating it. The same post said V4-Pro requests would be routed to V4.1-Flash from September 14. DeepSeek's changelog and pricing page now show V4-Pro still served and billed on its own, so that plan was not carried out as first written.

Anything beyond V4.1. We found no DeepSeek statement about a V5 or a new R-series model. The R line ended in practice with V3.1, which folded reasoning into the main model.

Brand Visibility Implications

  • DeepSeek does not publish knowledge cutoffs for these models. The V4.1-Flash model card gives none. Brand recall has to be tested, not looked up.
  • Old names now point at new models. A tool that still calls deepseek-v4-flash gets V4.1-Flash. Answers about your brand can change with no change on the tool's side. Record the model version with every tracked answer.
  • Open weights outlive the API. V3 and R1 remain downloadable under permissive licences and can still be run in self-hosted products. Those copies keep their original training data indefinitely.
  • Low prices spread the model widely. At $0.15 input off-peak, V4.1-Flash is cheap enough to sit behind developer tools and internal assistants where no retrieval is attached. See DeepSeek citation patterns and how training cutoffs change brand recall.

Methodology

This page is built from vendor documentation and dated reporting, not from Presenc AI measurements. Primary sources are used wherever one exists: OpenAI's model pages and deprecations page, Google's Gemini API changelog and deprecations page, xAI's release notes and model list, DeepSeek's API changelog and pricing page, and MiniMax's pricing page and Hugging Face model cards. Older release dates that vendors no longer document come from the relevant Wikipedia articles. Where a figure comes only from a secondary tracker or a single outlet, the page names it. "Not disclosed" means the vendor material we read does not state the figure. Status as of October 1, 2026.

How Presenc AI Helps

Presenc AI tracks how DeepSeek and other models describe your brand and records which model version produced each answer. When a vendor reroutes an old model name to a new model, you can see whether the answers moved.

Frequently Asked Questions

DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash was released on September 10, 2026, according to DeepSeek's API changelog. It is a 552B-parameter mixture-of-experts model with a 1M-token context window and native image input, published under the MIT licence. A V4.1-Pro has been referred to by DeepSeek but had not launched as of October 1, 2026.
V4 was previewed on April 24, 2026 as V4-Flash and V4-Pro, with official releases on July 31 and August 13. V4.1-Flash uses a new encoder-decoder architecture, adds native image understanding, and replaced V4-Flash on the API. V4-Pro is still the larger model until V4.1-Pro arrives.
As of October 1, 2026, DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash costs $0.15 per million input tokens off-peak and $0.30 at peak, with output at $0.60 and $1.20. DeepSeek-V4-Pro costs $0.66 or $1.32 for input and $1.98 or $3.96 for output. Peak hours are 01:00 to 04:00 and 06:00 to 10:00 UTC on weekdays.
The only item DeepSeek has pointed to is V4.1-Pro, with no release date. DeepSeek described V4.1-Flash as the smallest model in a new architecture family, which implies larger models to come. The company has not announced a V5 or a new R-series reasoning model.

Track Your AI Visibility

See how your brand appears across ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, and other AI platforms. Start monitoring today.